Volunteer Awards 21017






Members of the community, friends, family and fellow volunteers gathered at Hamilton Park Racecourse on Monday for an afternoon of volunteering celebrations. 

A total of 118 nominations were whittled down and invited to a ceremony which looked at the very best of South Lanarkshire's volunteers and rewarded them for their amazing and selfless work

Here are the winners and shortlisted nominees, congratulations to them all:


Committee Member/Trustee of the Year

WINNER: Stuart Paton, The Machan Trust

NOMINEES: James Cunningham, LEAP & Maureen Potter, Friends of Langlands Moss


Long Serving Volunteer of the Year

WINNER: Isabella Bell Banks, LEAP

NOMINEES: Geraldine Baird, Rutherglen and Cambuslang Housing Association


Volunteering Organisation of the Year

WINNER: Healthy Valleys

NOMINEES: LEAP & The Machan Trust


Young Volunteer of the Year

WINNER: Alix Roy, Swaddle, Hamilton Churches Drop In Centre and Hamilton District Foodbank

NOMINEES: Blair McAuley, Regen:fx Youth Trust & Sam McCrory, 3rd Blantyre Cub Scout Group


Volunteer of the Year

WINNER: Angelina Keating, Swap and Save One Stop Shop (SASOSS)

NOMINEES: Karen Brown, Lanark Panto Club & Sandy Hutchison, 138th Glasgow (Cambuslang Parish) Scout Group