South Lanarkshire is one of  32  Scottish local authorities and  covers an area of 684 sq. miles with a population of 320,000. It borders, Dumfries & Galloway, East Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, North Lanarkshire, Scottish Borders and West Lothian and  is split into 4 localities - Cambuslang/Rutherglen, Clydesdale, East Kilbride and Hamilton.

Facts About South Lanarkshire

  • sllanarkshirev5.png25% of South Lanarkshire is Urban (Cam/Glen, East Kilbride, Hamilton)
  • 75% of South Lanarkshire is Rural (Clydesdale)
Locality No of Third Sector Organisation
Cam/Glen 206
Clydesdale 428
East Kilbride 327
Hamilton 372
Total 1,333